Deadlines approach for journalism contests

Independent journalists and photographers are eligible to compete for the following awards.

The Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards

Deadline: Feb. 15

The New York State Society of Certified Public Accountants is now accepting submissions for its Excellence in Financial Journalism Awards 2013 from business print, television, radio and online reporters. The award, open to freelancers working anywhere in the U.S., honors outstanding reporting on business issues and media members who have contributed to a better understanding of business topics. All submissions will be judged on accuracy, quality and thoroughness of research.

National Institute for Health Care Management (NIHCM) Health Care Journalism Awards in print and broadcast

Deadline: Feb. 15. Recognizes excellence in health care reporting and writing on the financing and delivery of health care and the impact of health care policy. First-place winners earn $500 and a framed certificate.

The Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights Book and Journalism Awards 

Deadline: Feb. 15.

Each year, the Robert F. Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights presents an award to the book which “most faithfully and forcefully reflects Robert Kennedy’s concern for the poor and the powerless, his struggle for honest and even-handed justice, his conviction that a decent society must assure all young people a fair chance, and his faith that a free democracy can act to remedy disparities of power and opportunity.” Includes a category for student journalism.

The Casey Medals for Meritorious Journalism

Deadline: March 1.

The medals honor distinguished coverage of disadvantaged children, youth and families. Winning stories offer a fresh take on a significant issue, show enterprise in research and reporting and demonstrate masterful storytelling and impact. A category for youth media was added in 2012. First-place winners receive $1,000.

The America’s Promise Journalism Awards honor those members of the media whose work helped to raise national awareness about the needs of young people and inspire communities nationwide to put the needs of children and youth first. Each recipient receives a $5,000 honorarium.

Courage in Journalism and Lifetime Achievement Awards, print and  photography

Deadline: March 1

Each year, the Courage in Journalism Awards honour three women journalists who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances. Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose determination has paved the way for women in the news media. Candidates must be nominated by a third party. 

Fund for American Studies Professional Journalism Awards

Deadline: March 15.

The competition includes the Mollenhoff Award for Investigative Reporting and the Award for Excellence in Economic Reporting. Winners of each award will receive a $2,500 cash prize and a bronze eagle trophy, which will be presented at an awards luncheon in conjunction the 2012 Institute on Political Journalism in Washington, D.C.



Leave a Comment

Filed under Career Development, Professional Issues

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>